Real-life data in research

Real-life data collection is an integral part of clinical research

So-called “real-life” data are defined in opposition to data collected in interventional clinical trials: unlike the latter, they concern all patients (the selection criteria are generally much broader) at the cost of much more data. missing. However, they allow to provide an additional level of evidence, useful in decision-making. Moreover, in its definition of the different levels of scientific evidence, the Haute Autorité de Santé includes them according to their relevance.

There are 2 types of so-called “real life” data:

  • Those who are from medical records (and / or administrative) patients
  • Those who are directly from patients

Different levels of proof

This method of systematic scientific analysis aggregates the results of several independent studies which have answered the same problem, and which have used a similar methodology. The meta-analysis allows for a broader analysis of the data by increasing the number of cases studied and drawing an overall conclusion.

In this type of clinical study, one group of participants is exposed to a substance (for example, a medicine) while the other group (called a "control" or "control") is not exposed. The results are then compared between these two groups to determine the specific health effects of the intervention studied. These are studies whose data are collected prospectively and which usually require a large number of participants.

A cohort study brings together subjects who together share a number of common characteristics. They are then monitored over time, at the individual level by collecting information about them at different times. Most often, cohort studies collect data prospectively. The number of participants depends mainly on the characteristics of the population to be included.

Cohorts are particularly well suited to assess a risk associated with exposure to substances hazardous to health, for example. After a certain observation period, the incidence rates of the effects of the substance are compared between exposed and non-exposed: these are then "exposed / non-exposed studies".

Case-control studies are used to highlight factors that may contribute to the development of a disease by comparing subjects who have the disease (the cases) with subjects who do not have the disease but who are similar moreover (the witnesses). Most often these are studies with retrospective data collection; they are well suited to the analysis of rare cases.

This method uses the description of one (or more) particular case (s) to clarify certain points not previously known. It allows hypotheses to be developed before carrying out other studies.

Expert opinions are a type of publication that makes it possible to highlight concepts known to certain recognized experts in a specific scientific field but which have not yet been covered by clinical studies or whose results have not yet been unanimously recognized. by the scientific community. These expert opinions make it possible to alert and / or guide towards an improvement in practices but need to be compared with the results of subsequent clinical studies.

* Use real life data

What data SKEZI can collect?

The tools developed by SKEZI make it possible to collect all types of real life data directly from patients. Secondly, these data can be analyzed with regard to data from the medical records of the same patients (this is referred to as “data chaining”, after agreement of the participants).

PROMs

PROMs are questionnaires, accompanied by documentation specifying information such as methods of administration, scoring, analysis and interpretation. They provide important information that is not collected with traditional clinical measurements. Are questionnaires that explore important points for patients: they can be general and concern all patients, regardless of their health problem. or more specific to a given pathology. Ils are particularly interested in questions concerning the impact on their quality of life (quality of life, QoL or Health related QoL - HRQoL) or on more specific dimensions such as physical capacities. They can also measure parameters relating to a particular pathology.

PREMs

PREMs are interested in how the patient experiences the care experience, his subjective (for example, attention to his pain) and objective (such as waiting times), or the relationships he has had with caregivers.

Satisfaction

Studying satisfaction is an important step in adapting a service offer like care. Satisfaction surveys ask individuals about various points that are important for improve the quality of the service provided. It is possible to adapt the questions according to the situations.

Other data obtained directly from the patient

For routine examinations, it is possible to ask patients to photograph medical reports (prescription, scanner, ultrasound, etc.) or enter this information themselves, which makes it possible to share real-life data usually present in medical files but, here, acquired directly from the patient.

New e-health technologies are generating new types of data that will soon be possible to collect also thanks to SKEZI: for example, connected watches or smartphones also generate health data that it can be useful to collect, in particular on the physical activity of the participants.

Real-life data

Real-life data is data generated in the everyday life of patients: they areoppose to clinical trial data that define in advance the data they will collect in a selected population. The latter have the advantage of being in general exhaustive but their generalization is limited: the results of these trials make it possible to better explain certain clinical situations but are not transposable to all patients. For example, children, pregnant women, the very old or those with a lot of co-morbidities are often excluded from clinical trials. It is therefore difficult later to apply the results of these same tests to them.

Real-life data complements these tests by providing another type of information: they better represent the reality on the ground, even if they are less exhaustive.

For example, they can describe the use of a drug in an environment that does not necessarily correspond to the conditions of the studies that led to its marketing: these data can describe a need not covered and not identified during the development of the drug. drug. These real-life data may come from clinical data from the medical file (medical history, prescribed treatments, medical and paramedical procedures, results of biology or imaging analysis, etc.),administrative information (socio-demographic data, medical coverage), of data from connected objects (saturometer, blood pressure monitor, glucometer, bathroom scale…) or finally data collected directly from the patient. 

All of this collected data must be transmitted in secure databases in real time on approved servers hosting health data.

SKEZI® has created the tools allowing all stakeholders to generate results that can safely support data collection directly from patients.

Données personnelles

We talk about personal data when it comes to information that can be reported to a natural person, whether he or she is identified at the outset or can be subsequently identified. We then distinguish in particular health data, the definition of which is broad: can be considered "health" data which by nature has a link with health (such as medical history, treatments, etc.), data that will be subsequently cross-referenced with health data by nature (for example, the number of steps and blood pressure), or even any data from the moment when their use is medically planned.

The collection of personal data makes it possible to have more precise details of the patient's overall health. By collecting this information without going through a caregiver (medical record often incomplete or focused on a particular medical situation), we can thus collect more precise and reliable data. For example, with regard to data on the care pathway (relations with caregivers, access to care, support, patient involvement in medical decisions, etc.), it is essential to know the personal point of view of the patients.

How does an e-cohort accelerate clinical research?

The e-cohort, an infrastructure for simpler and faster research.

Une cohorte est un groupe d’individus qui vont être followed over time. It can be selected on a given pathology (diabetes, hypertension), or be general population, and include everyone. These cohorts will define data, which will be collected over time.

An e-cohort is characterized by collected data on an internet platform. Its participants consent to the collection of their data in advance.

There are two types of e-cohorts:

  • Some collect data from medical records
  • Others collect data directly from patients

These two types of e-cohorts are collaborative : in the first case, several doctors (investigators) collect their data to advance in research; and in the other case, it is the patients themselves who become actors in the research by entering their data. These types of e-cohorts can be combined: patients and doctors can collect the data.

Accelerating research thanks to e-cohorts

Cohort studies consist of observe the occurrence of health events over time within a defined population that shares common characteristics. They allow, in particular, toevaluate the links between factors so-called exposure (demographic, biological, behavioral, environmental, genetic, etc.) and the occurrence of health events (disease, biological marker, etc.). An e-cohort makes it possible to constitute a community of patients wishing to participate in research on a theme by contributing to the generation of a large database enriched secondarily by other data sources.

Involving patients in research allows the results to be more relevant and ultimately to be used by society.

The central concept of an e-cohort is to lead to a collaborative infrastructure for research. This unique and shared research infrastructure, involving a shared participant and a data pool, facilitates and accelerates research for all. In this community, patients give responses to online questionnaires. Depending on the wishes of the investigator, they can become active members of the research community and be involved in all stages of the research, such as the choice of projects to be carried out within an e-cohort, the design of all the materials intended for participants, for data analysis or for the dissemination of the project.

When new questions emerge about a specific disease, they can be asked directly of the population carrying that disease, if a specific cohort already exists. These responses provided by the many individuals concerned thus accelerate the answer to a new research question.

If investigators need to test a new molecule in a given disease, it is possible to contact the participants of these e-cohorts, and to propose via the e-cohort the participation in a clinical trial. The e-cohort thus makes it possible to recruit potential candidates more quickly. in large scale. In addition, some e-cohorts offer participants to interact with other individuals and so create a community : they can then suggest new directions for current research.

A few examples of e-cohorts

Les données de vie réelle en recherche

La collecte de données de vie réelle fait partie intégrante de la recherche clinique

Les données dites « de vie réelle » sont définies par opposition aux données recueillies dans les essais cliniques interventionnels : contrairement à ces dernières, elles concernent tous les patients (les critères de sélection sont en général bien plus larges) au prix de beaucoup plus de données manquantes. Elles permettent cependant d’apporter un niveau de preuve supplémentaire, utile dans la prise de décisions. D’ailleurs, dans sa définition des différents niveaux de preuve scientifique, la Haute Autorité de Santé les inclut en fonction de leur pertinence.

On distingue 2 types de données dites « de vie réelle » :

  • Celles qui sont issues des dossiers médicaux (et/ou administratifs) des patients
  • Celles qui sont issues directement des patients

Les différents niveaux de preuve

Cette méthode d’analyse scientifique systématique agrège les résultats de plusieurs études indépendantes qui ont répondu au même problème, et qui ont utilisé une méthodologie proche. La méta-analyse permet une analyse de plus grande envergure des données par l’augmentation du nombre de cas étudiés et d’en tirer une conclusion globale.

Dans ce type d’étude clinique, un groupe de participants est exposé à une substance (par exemple, un médicament) tandis que l’autre groupe (dit « contrôle » ou « témoin ») n’y est pas exposé. Les résultats sont ensuite comparés entre ces deux groupes afin de déterminer les effets propres de l’intervention étudiée sur la santé. Il s’agit d’études dont les données sont collectées prospectivement et qui nécessitent, le plus souvent, un grand nombre de participants.

Une étude de cohorte regroupe des sujets partageant ensemble un certain nombre de caractéristiques communes. Ils sont alors suivis dans le temps, à l’échelle individuelle en collectant des informations les concernant à différents moments. Le plus souvent, les études de cohorte collectent les données de façon prospective. Le nombre de participants dépend essentiellement des caractéristiques de la population à inclure.

Les cohortes sont particulièrement bien adaptées pour évaluer un risque lié à l’exposition à des substances dangereuses pour la santé, par exemple. À l’issue d’un certain temps d’observation, on compare les taux d’incidence des effets de la substance entre exposés et non-exposés : il s’agit alors d’« études exposés/non-exposés ».

Les études cas-témoins sont utilisées pour mettre en évidence des facteurs qui peuvent contribuer à l’apparition d’une maladie en comparant des sujets qui ont cette maladie (les cas) avec des sujets qui n’ont pas la maladie mais qui sont similaires par ailleurs (les témoins). Il s’agit le plus souvent d’études dont la collecte des données est rétrospective ; elles sont bien adaptées à l’analyse de cas rares.

Cette méthode utilise la description d’un (ou plusieurs) cas particulier(s) pour préciser certains points non connus précédemment. Elle permet d’élaborer des hypothèses avant de réaliser d’autres études.

Les avis d’experts sont un type de publications qui permet de mettre en exergue des notions connues de certains experts reconnus dans un champ scientifique précis mais qui n’est pas encore couvert par des études cliniques ou dont les résultats ne sont pas encore unanimement reconnus par la communauté scientifique. Ces avis d’experts permettent d’alerter et/ou de guider vers une amélioration des pratiques mais nécessitent d’être confrontés aux résultats d’études cliniques ultérieures.

* Utilisent des données de vie réelle

Quelles données SKEZI peut recueillir ?

Les outils développés par SKEZI permettent de collecter tous types de données de vie réelle directement depuis les patients. Dans un second temps, ces données peuvent être analysées en regard des données issues des dossiers médicaux des mêmes patients (on parle alors de « chaînage des données », après accord des participants).

Les PROMs

Les PROMs sont des questionnaires, accompagnés d’une documentation précisant des informations telles que les méthodes d’administration, de scoring, d’analyse et d’interprétation. Ils permettent d’obtenir des informations importantes qui ne sont pas recueillies avec les mesures cliniques classiques.sont des questionnaires qui explorent des points importants pour les patients : ils peuvent être généraux et concerner l’ensemble des patients, quel que soit leur problème de santé ou plus spécifiques à une pathologie donnée. Ils s’intéressent en particulier aux questions concernant l’impact sur leur qualité de vie (quality of life, QoL ou Health related QoL – HRQoL) ou sur des dimensions plus spécifiques comme les capacités physiques. Ils peuvent aussi mesurer des paramètres touchant à une pathologie particulière.

Les PREMs

Les PREMs s’intéressent à la manière dont le patient vit l’expérience des soins, son vécu subjectif (par exemple, l’attention portée à sa douleur) et objectif (comme les délais d’attente), ou encore les relations qu’il a eues avec des soignants.

La satisfaction

L’étude de la satisfaction est une étape importante dans l’adaptation d’une offre de service comme les soins. Les enquêtes de satisfaction interrogent les individus sur différents points importants pour améliorer la qualité du service rendu. Il est possible d’adapter les questions en fonction des situations.

D’autres données obtenues directement depuis le patient

Pour les examens faits en routine, il est possible de demander aux patients de photographier des comptes-rendus médicaux (ordonnance, scanner, échographie…) ou de saisir eux-mêmes ces informations, ce qui permet de partager de la donnée de vie réelle habituellement présente dans les dossiers médicaux mais, ici, acquise directement depuis le patient.

Les nouvelles technologies de e-santé génèrent de nouveaux types de données qu’il sera bientôt possible de recueillir aussi grâce à SKEZI : par exemple, les montres connectées ou les smartphones génèrent aussi des données de santé qu’il peut être utile de recueillir, notamment sur l’activité physique des participants.

Les données de vie réelle

Les données de vie réelle sont des données générées dans la vie de tous les jours des patients : elles s’opposent aux données des essais cliniques qui définissent à l’avance les données qu’elles vont recueillir dans une population sélectionnée. Ces dernières ont l’avantage d’être en générale exhaustives mais leur généralisation est limitée : les résultats de ces essais permettent de mieux expliquer certaines situations cliniques mais ne sont pas transposables à tous les patients. Par exemple, les enfants, les femmes enceintes, les personnes très âgées ou avec beaucoup de comorbidités sont souvent exclus des essais cliniques. Il est donc difficile plus tard de leur appliquer les résultats de ces mêmes essais.

Les données de vie réelle viennent compléter ces essais en apportant un autre type d’information : elles représentent mieux la réalité du terrain, même si elles sont moins exhaustives.

Par exemple, elles peuvent décrire l’usage d’un médicament dans un environnement qui ne correspond pas nécessairement aux conditions des études qui ont mené à sa mise sur le marché : ces données peuvent décrire un besoin non couvert et non identifié lors du développement du médicament. Ces données de vie réelle peuvent venir de données cliniques issues du dossier médical (antécédents médicaux, traitements prescrits, actes médicaux et paramédicaux, résultats d’analyse de biologie ou d’imagerie…), d’informations de nature administrative (données socio-démographique, couverture médicale), de données issues d’objets connectés (saturomètre, tensiomètre, glucomètre, pèse-personne…) ou enfin de données collectées directement depuis le patient. 

L’ensemble de ces données récoltées doit être transmis dans des bases de données sécurisées en temps réel sur des serveurs agréés hébergeurs de données de santé.

SKEZI® a créé les outils permettant à l’ensemble des acteurs de générer des résultats pouvant soutenir la collecte de données directement depuis les patients en toute sécurité.

Données personnelles

On parle de données personnelles lorsqu’il s’agit d’informations qui peuvent être rapportées à une personne physique, qu’elle soit d’emblée identifiée ou qu’elle puisse être identiable par la suite. On distingue alors en particulier les données de santé dont la définition est large : peuvent être considérées « de santé » des données qui par nature ont un rapport avec la santé (comme les antécédents médicaux, les traitements, etc…), des données qui seront par la suite croisées avec des données de santé par nature (par exemple, le nombre de pas et la pression artérielle), ou encore toute donnée à partir du moment où leur utilisation est prévue au plan médical.

La collecte de données personnelles permet d’avoir des détails plus précis sur l’état de santé globale du patient. En recueillant ces informations sans passer par un soignant (dossier médical souvent incomplet ou focalisé sur une situation médicale particulière), on peut ainsi recueillir une donnée plus précise et plus fiable. Par exemple, en ce qui concerne les données sur le parcours de soins (relations avec les soignants, accès aux soins, la prise en charge, implication du patient dans les décisions médicales…), il est essentiel de connaître le point de vue personnel des patients.

Comment une e-cohorte permet-elle d’accélérer la recherche clinique ?

La e-cohorte, une infrastructure pour une recherche plus simple et plus rapide.

Une cohorte est un groupe d’individus qui vont être suivis dans le temps. Elle peut être sélectionnée sur une pathologie donnée (diabète, hypertension), ou bien être de population générale, et inclure tout le monde. Ces cohortes vont définir des données, qui seront collectées au fur et à mesure du temps.

Une e-cohorte se caractérise par des données collectées sur une plateforme internet. Ses participants consentent à la collecte de leurs données au préalable.

Il existe deux types de e-cohortes :

  • Certaines collectent les données à partir des dossiers médicaux
  • D’autres collectent les données issues directement des patients

Ces deux types de e-cohortes sont collaboratives : dans le premier cas, plusieurs médecins (investigateurs) rassemblent leurs données pour avancer dans la recherche ; et dans l’autre cas, ce sont les patients eux-mêmes qui deviennent acteurs de la recherche en saisissant leurs données. Ces types de e-cohortes peuvent se combiner : patients et médecins peuvent colliger les données.

L'accélération de la recherche grâce aux e-cohortes

Les études de cohorte consistent à observer la survenue d’évènements de santé dans le temps au sein d’une population définie qui partage des caractéristiques communes. Elles permettent, notamment, d’évaluer les liens entre des facteurs dits d’exposition (démographiques, biologiques, comportementaux, environnementaux, génétiques…) et la survenue d’évènements de santé (maladie, marqueur biologique…). Une e-cohorte permet de constituer une communauté de patients désireux de participer à la recherche sur une thématique en contribuant à la génération d’une grande base de données enrichie secondairement par d’autres sources de données.

L’implication des patients dans la recherche permet aux résultats d’être plus pertinents et, à terme, d’être utilisés par la société.

Le concept central d’une e-cohorte est de déboucher sur une infrastructure collaborative pour la recherche. Cette infrastructure de recherche unique et partagée, impliquant un participant mutualisé et un pool de données, facilite et accélère la recherche pour tous. Dans cette communauté, les patients donnent des réponses aux questionnaires en ligne. Selon les souhaits de l’investigateur, ils peuvent devenir des membres actifs de la communauté de recherche et être impliqués dans toutes les étapes de la recherche, telles que le choix des projets à mener au sein d’une e-cohorte, la conception de l’ensemble des matériels destinés aux participants, à l’analyse des données ou à la diffusion du projet.

Lorsque de nouvelles questions émergent sur une maladie spécifique, elles peuvent être posées directement à la population porteuse de cette maladie, si une cohorte spécifique existe déjà. Ces réponses apportées par les nombreux individus concernés accélèrent ainsi la réponse à une nouvelle question de recherche.

Si des investigateurs ont besoin de tester une nouvelle molécule dans une maladie donnée, il est possible de contacter les participants de ces e-cohortes, et proposer via la e-cohorte la participation à un essai clinique. La e-cohorte permet ainsi de recruter plus rapidement des candidats potentiels à grande échelle. De plus, certaines e-cohortes proposent aux participants d’interagir avec d’autres individus et ainsi de créer une communauté : ils peuvent alors proposer de nouvelles orientations de la recherche en cours.

Quelques exemples de e-cohortes